About the Post

Author Information

Founder and Owner of the Flexbone Association. Since 2007 we have provided the tools necessary for teams to succeed running the Flexbone Association System. Over the last ten years over 200 teams have been instructed by the Flexbone Association. I've consulted with teams and or run camps everywhere from Belfair, WA to Key West, FL. The Flexbone Association strives daily to help coaches succeed with this time tested offense, I have been a football coach for 16 seasons, currently at Harrison High School in Kennesaw, GA I played at St. Mary's Springs High School in Fond du Lac, WI under legendary head coach Bob Hyland. I've been fortunate to be part of five state championship teams (1997,1998,2002,2011,2012). In 2011-2012 St. Mary's Springs led the state of Wisconsin in scoring and set consecutive school records for points scored, Psalm 27

Feinstein: Heisman Trophy Is a Joke

When I was a very young reporter at The Washington Post, I received a Heisman Trophy ballot. I have no idea how I actually got on the list but I’m guessing since I was covering college football, the people at the so-called, ‘Heisman Trust,’ made me a voter. Getting a Heisman vote is only slightly more difficult than registering to vote, which explains why there are close to 1,000 voters.

What’s more, once you get a Heisman vote you keep it forever. Unlike one’s vote for President, committing a felony apparently doesn’t cost you your right to vote.

At least as far as I know. I sent an e-mail to the flack for the Heisman trust asking if O.J. Simpson still receives a ballot as a past winner and got no response.

In 1979, Charles White won the award. After the voting, I was sent a pretty little certificate saying that I had been a Heisman voter that year. Cool.

A year later, I gave up my vote.


Because there wasn’t any doubt in 1980 who the best player in college football was: Pittsburgh’s Hugh Green. To this day, I’m not sure I’ve seen a player more dominant on the defensive side of the ball at the college level. The fact that he didn’t go on to be a great pro is irrelevant.

I voted for Green—no brainer—and so did a lot of people. Only he didn’t win: South Carolina’s George Rogers, a very fine running back, but hardly a dominant player won. That sealed it for me: I didn’t want to vote for an award that claimed to recognize the best player in college football when it was clear the award only recognized the best OFFENSIVE ‘skill position,’ player in college football.

Years later, in 1997, Charles Woodson did win, but he only won because he played offense, defense and was a killer kick returner. Had he only played defense, he would not have won.

And now?

Not only would I not vote for the Heisman, I don’t even want to talk about it, write about it or publicize it in any way—once I get finished here.

If you read the description of who should win the Heisman Trophy, it reads, “A player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence and integrity.”

Full Article

Photo by Kelly Kline/Heisman Trophy Trust via Getty Images

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: